MARCO ATTILIO REGOLO. Scarlatti

MUSICAL DIRECTION Ulrich Nicolai
STAGENina von Essen
DRAMATURGYHeribert Germeshausen
EXTRASTheater Heidelberg
ORCHESTRAPhilharmonisches Orchester Heidelberg
WITH:Terry Wey
Antonio Giovannini
Sharleen Joynt
Annika Sophie Ritlewski
Hye-Sung Na
Daniel Johannsen
Photos: Maurice Korbel

“In Eva-Maria Höckmayr’s cleverly modernizing and sensual interpretation, the story comes across as a psychological chamber play. The hooks of the baroque intrigue of obsession and big state scenery work as an absurd, decadent exaggeration even when its protagonists are in modern bourgeois party outfits. (…) Höckmayr and her team pass the last acid test for the success of an ambitious baroque production. Thus, one could hardly wish for a German premiere almost 300 years late beyond museum-like devotion!”

Die Welt, 30.11.11, Joachim Lange

“Director Eva-Maria Höckmayr carefully transports the piece into the present and stays very close to the music. (…) This is music theatre in the modern sense, developed entirely from the score that Emilia refuses the lieto fine , grabs a gun and mows down the entire company singing at the ramp. She sings the last line alone. (…) Many of the images in the second part are also ghostly, reminding us that more is being negotiated here than the potentate’s congestion of potency. (…) At the very least, it would not be surprising if a rediscovery of Scarlatti the music dramatist, were to emanate from Schwetzingen.”

Deutschlandradio Kultur, 25.11.11, Stefan Keim

“Director Eva-Maria Höckmayr (…) turns it into a differentiated psychological chamber play on Nina von Essen’s stage, which makes positive use of all the circumstances of the rococo theatre. The characters themselves are succinctly drawn, the whole is excitingly told and surprises with an unexpectedly tragic ending. The director presents a thoughtful, solid work that is thoroughly coherent even in the present day.”

Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung, 28.11.11, Matthias Roth

“In Eva-Maria Höckmayr’s production and Julia Rösler’s contemporary costumes, we see a chamber play about life and death, which means nothing other than a psychogram of love. (…) There is no safe ground here. Love on the brink. It is the tyrannical men who make life so miserable. Trapped in their outdated code of honour, fatherland and pride, they deprive everyone else of the basis of life.”

Die Rheinpfalz, 28.11.11, Frank Pommer

“(…) an attractive piece, which met with broad approval at the Winter in Schwetzingen as a German premiere, because the scenic and musical realisation shows (self-)tormenting states of mind, which strip the characters of all statuary. Director Eva-Maria Höckmayr finds people of today and models them through individual typification. (…) a sophisticated, gripping performance.”

Mannheimer Morgen, 28.11.11, Eckhard Britsch

“The – from today’s point of view – strange plot is typical for the baroque opera, but with the German premiere the production makes plausible that the problems can be understood quite cross-temporally, because egomaniacal behaviour clouds the view and delusion can have abstruse consequences. (…) The start to the winter festival is very well received by the premiere audience.”

Opernnetz, 27.11.11, Eckhard Britsch

MARCO ATTILIO REGOLO. Scarlatti

MUSIKALISCHE LEITUNG Ulrich Nicolai
BÜHNENina von Essen
DRAMATURGIEHeribert Germeshausen
STATISTERIETheater Heidelberg
ORCHESTERPhilharmonisches Orchester Heidelberg
MIT:Terry Wey
Antonio Giovannini
Sharleen Joynt
Annika Sophie Ritlewski
Hye-Sung Na
Daniel Johannsen
Fotos: Maurice Korbel

,,In der gescheit modernisierenden und dabei sinnlichen Deutung von Eva-Maria Höckmayr kommt die Geschichte als Psychokammerspiel daher. Die Hakenschläge des barocken Intrigenknäuels aus Obsession und großer Staatskulisse funktionieren als absurde, dekadente Übersteigerung eben auch dann, wenn ihre Protagonisten im modernen bürgerlichen Party-Outfit stecken. (…) Höckmayr und ihr Team bestehen damit auch noch die letzte Nagelprobe für das Gelingen einer ambitionierten Barockinszenierung. So kann man sich eine fast 300 Jahre verspätete deutsche Erstaufführung jenseits musealer Andacht kaum besser wünschen!“

Die Welt, 30.11.11, Joachim Lange

,,Regisseurin Eva-Maria Höckmayr transportiert das Stück behutsam in die Gegenwart und bleibt dabei ganz nahe an der Musik. (…) Das ist Musiktheater im modernen Sinne, ganz aus der Partitur heraus entwickelt, dass Emilia sich dem lieto fine verweigert, ein Gewehr greift und die ganze, an der Rampe singende Gesellschaft niedermäht. Die letzte Zeile singt sie alleine. (…) Gespenstisch sind auch viele Bilder im zweiten Teil, die daran erinnern, dass hier mehr verhandelt wird als der Potenzstau der Potentaten. (…) Es würde zumindest nicht verwundern, wenn von Schwetzingen eine Wiederentdeckung des Musikdramatikers Scarlatti ausgehen würde.“

Deutschlandradio Kultur, 25.11.11, Stefan Keim

,,Regisseurin Eva-Maria Höckmayr (…) macht daraus ein differenziertes, psychologisches Kammerspiel auf Nina von Essens Bühne, die alle Gegebenheiten des Rokokotheaters positiv nutzt. Die Figuren selbst sind prägnant gezeichnet, das Ganze wird spannend erzählt und überrascht mit einem unerwartet tragischen Ende. Die Regisseurin legt eine durchdachte, solide Arbeit vor, die auch im Heute durchaus stimmig ist.“

Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung, 28.11.11, Matthias Roth

,,Wir sehen in der Inszenierung von Eva-Maria Höckmayr und in den zeitgenössischen Kostümen von Julia Rösler ein Kammerspiel um Leben und Tod, was ja nichts anderes meint als: ein Psychogramm der Liebe. (…) Sicheren Grund gib es hier keinen mehr. Lieben am Abgrund. Es sind die tyrannischen Männer, die das Leben so zurichten. Gefangen in ihrem überkommenen Kodex von Ehre, Vaterland und Stolz, entziehen sie allen anderen die Lebensgrundlage.“ 

Die Rheinpfalz, 28.11.11, Frank Pommer

,,(…) ein attraktives Stück, das beim Winter in Schwetzingen als deutsche Erstaufführung auf breite Zustimmung stieß, denn die szenische und musikalische Umsetzung zeigt (selbst)quälerische Seelenzustände, welche die Figuren aller Statuarik entkleiden. Menschen von heute findet Regisseurin Eva-Maria Höckmayr vor und modelliert sie durch individuelle Typisierung. (…) eine niveauvolle, griffige Aufführung.“

Mannheimer Morgen, 28.11.11, Eckhard Britsch

,,Der -aus heutiger Sicht – seltsame Plot ist typisch für die Barockoper, doch mit der deutschen Erstaufführung macht die Inszenierung plausibel, dass die Probleme recht zeitübergreifend verstanden werden können, weil egomanes Verhalten den Blick trübt und Verblendung abstruse Folgen haben kann. (…) Der Start in das winterliche Festival kommt beim Premierenpublikum sehr gut an.“

Opernnetz, 27.11.11, Eckhard Britsch