LES TROYENS. Berlioz


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/evamariahoeckmayr.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 738
MUSICAL DIRECTION John Nelson
STAGEJens Kilian
DRAMATURGYNorbert Abels
COSTUMESaskia Rettig
LIGHTOlaf Winter
CHOIRTilman Michael
CHOREOGRAPHY/DANCEMartin Dvorak
EXTRASBühne Frankfurt
WITH:Tanja Baumgartner
Claudia Mahnke
Bryan Register
Judita Nagyova
Martin Mitterrutzner
Gordon Bintner
Opera Choir
Alfred Reiter
Michael Porter
Elizabeth Reiter
Barbara Zechmeister
Brandon Cedel
Thomas Faulkner
Daniel Miroslaw
Dietrich Volle
Alison King
Thesele Kemane
Martin Dvorak
Irene Bauer
Zusatzchor Frankfurt
Extrachor

“Basically unspectacular and without exaltation, director Eva-Maria Höckmayr tells an exciting, oppressive war story in the first two acts, centred around the dominant Cassandra figure of Tanja Ariane Baumgartner. (…) Also gripping is the cleverly and vocally hauntingly traced path of Didon (Claudia Mahnke) from the imperial grande dame to the highly dramatic abandoned woman exhausting all facets of passion, rage, grief and paralysis.”

Hans-Klaus Jungheinrich, Opernwelt April 2017

“Tanja Ariane Baumgartner is a great singer-actress and a charismatically luminous, voluminous Cassandre. The glowing power, the desperate tenderness that she puts into her voice when it comes to saving her lover leads straight to one of the first Frankfurt opera star hours of the evening, during which one forgets to breathe for a short time. But even he, the brave Chorèbe (Gordon Bintner), does not believe her until it is too late.

In general: the women! Almost all of them are a good class ahead of the men in this production. That applies, except for the Baumgartners, especially to Claudia Mahnke, who leads the reign as Dido in the second part (“The Trojans in Carthage”): She goes through, as a queen of hearts, a grandiose development that leads from cold reasons of state to hot private affair to self-dissolution. (…) Eva-Maria Höckmayr and her set designer Jens Kilian courageously opted for tangible folklore. Shadows, light and video they use, with the help of Olaf Winter and Bert Zander, in a more refined way.”

Eleonore Büning, FAZ, 21.2.2017

“According to this interpretation, director Eva-Maria Höckmayr has accurately extracted the necessary elements from Berlioz’s libretto and composition. (…) And so although everything is executed with a mental bow to the original – perfectionist, classical, orderly – on this Sunday evening at the premiere of the opera, which is over four hours long, nothing deceives about what is being negotiated at its core. It centres, Berlioz could not have knitted it more classically, around the tragic love story that unfolds between the somewhat confused Aeneas and the love-thirsty Dido, and which must inevitably culminate in the departure of the one and the suicide of the other.”

Ekaterina Kel, Die deutsche Bühne, Februar 2017

“In doing so, Nelson ties the many wild details, the often spectacular mini-effects into one big line, spreads the action out in a powerful flow that never builds up. This is what director Eva-Maria Höckmayr takes up in her production, repeatedly using the revolving stage without it ever becoming obtrusive. (…) The central location of her reading is a kind of ballroom or knight’s hall, a column-lined state room – with precious wood walls in Troy, with airy white curtains in Carthage. Here Höckmayr explores the play and the characters, trying first and foremost to make Berlioz’s music and his unusual tableau dramaturgy audible and tangible. (…) But he invents a strong, symbolic imagery, including a huge horse, and above all conveys Berlioz’s crude play structure, for example the treatise of the Trojan War in two acts, as a joy over the arrival of the horse and as a moment of defeat in the battle that has been raging for a long time, both almost without external action. On the other hand, great passages succeed, such as the entire fourth act, in which Höckmayr traces the development of Dido and Énée from lovers to lovers as carefully as densely. Here every detail is spellbinding, one is torn from the dream almost as much as the lovers by Mercury’s cries of “Italie!”, belted out with wonderful elasticity by Thomas Faulkner. Höckmayr presents the mythical event as a kind of supra-temporal parable. The private constantly tips over into the political, the war into the family constellation. In addition, the changing locations on the revolving stage, the dancers and extras repeatedly build up a parallel world, a web of gods, the dead, fears and longings.”

Andreas Falentin, Concerti, 20.2.2017

“The first hour and a half is all about the big picture of the drama of war. On the stage, the depth, of which one is rarely as aware as in these “Les Troyens”, the pompous, closed interior of the royal palace contrasts with the wide or small squares of the people. There seems to be an infinite number of places, scenes change frantically, people everywhere, sometimes en masse, then isolated or in small groups. Fate, the revolving stages and above all, the music hurl the spectators mercilessly into a frenzy. And everywhere she is: Cassandre, who knows the future, Cassandre, to whom no one wants to listen. Tanja Ariane Baumgartner has probably found the role of her life in the role of the seer. (…) “Les Troyens” by Hector Berlioz demands the utmost from the musicians and the audience. One can despair and give up in the face of the megalomaniac undertaking, or give oneself up with skin and hair and experience an unforgettable rush of sound and images in which one remains captivated for a long time.”

Andrea Richter, Faust Kultur, Februar 2017

“The grandiose Tanja Ariane Baumgartner stares as Cassandra with wide-open eyes into the dark future. Murder and manslaughter are, in reference to the ancient tragedy, not shown on stage, but only sung about. (…) The wonderful singers Claudia Mahnke and Bryan Register struggle through a rollercoaster of emotions as the scrupulous Carthaginian queen Dido and the windy Trojan hero Aeneas: obey the dead husband or give in to love? (…) A conclusive final image in Eva Maria Höckmayr’s altogether respectable attempt to tame Berlioz’s operatic mammoth entirely without clumsy quotations of actualisation.”

Ursula Böhmer, SWR 2 Journal am Mittag, 20.2.17

“(…) The latest production at Oper Frankfurt proves that it can captivate audiences despite its length and two stories. Director Eva-Maria Höckmayr, whose “Romeo und Julia auf dem Dorfe” production at Oper Frankfurt is still well remembered, was engaged for the demanding task of a new production of “Les Troyens”. With a steady hand she leads through the plot, which constantly changes between dramatic action, reports and lyrical meditation, bringing the large choral masses quickly and sensibly onto the stage, using the large revolving stage. And yet creates chamber-musical intimacy and closeness. (…)”

Markus Gründig, Kulturfreak, Februar 2017

“In the first part of the “Trojans” the director has put Cassandra in the center. Her serious face appears on the curtain – alias singer Tanja Ariane Baumgartner. The way she sings and plays Kassandra is a stunner. Her voice is brilliant, from finely differentiated to desperately frantic, her playing is fascinating, her little performance with the war figure (choreographer and dancer Martin Dvorák). Her slender, authoritarian figure is convincing as Cassandra. (…) Eva-Maria Höckmayr – she staged “A Village Romeo and Juliet” in Frankfurt – is an experienced director who has won several awards. She is responsible for the staging of this “Trojan”. She demonstrates a psychologically sensitive leadership of the characters – especially of Cassandra, Dido and Aeneas. Skillfully she moves the chorus. Imaginative, how she lets ghost and war figures accompany Cassandra and Dido.”

Renate Feyerbacher, Feuilleton Frankfurt, 23.2.2017

“Eva-Maria Höckmayr (director) and John Nelson (musical director, in addition a proven Berlioz specialist), succeed with this production an all-round lush, in places grandiose epic, with strong musical and acting scenes, which certainly takes up cross-era problems such as flight, emigration, violence, but does not slide into a superficial update of a refugee drama. (…) With rapid changes of the scenes, a constantly moving revolving stage, bizarre costumes, world- and soul-opening video inserts and many skilful dance and ballet interludes, the four hours became an entertaining viewing experience. Here, the entire technical know-how of the opera stage was exploited in the best manner. An opera production that points to the future in this respect.”

www.hboscaiolo.blogspot.de, Februar 17

“There is a clever staging to be seen, which makes the bracket between the two parts and thus the nowadays largely common decision to present the whole in one evening understandable. If this bracket is already laid out in the score with the motifs of the Trojan march, it becomes plausible, as it seldom does, through the directorial concept. Eva Maria Höckmayr, nota bene a director as in 1983, focuses the action on the type of woman who sees, recognizes, wants to preserve and love. On the one hand, she is a seer, on the other hand, she directs the affairs of state. Thus they differ eminently and yet merge psychologically in the final failure. All being becomes man here. (…) From the very beginning Höckmayr avoids ingratiation with current conditions and debates by radically dissolving all natural settings.”

Ralf Siepmann, O-Ton, Februar 2017

“The first impression of Eva-Maria Höckmayr’s production at the Frankfurt Opera is that of a monumental projection of Cassandra’s face, marked by visionary worry, on a gauze curtain. The director works with such cross-fades again and again throughout the entire evening, (…). Image by image clearly worked through. A deeply impressive production.”

Allgemeine Zeitung Kassel, Stefan Michalzik, 22.2.2017

“Director Eva-Maria Höckmayr stages the inevitable fall of Troy at the end of the second act in a remarkably distanced manner, refusing obvious stage naturalism (such as the collective suicide of Cassandra together with the Trojan women in order not to fall into the hands of the Greek conquerors) and leaving the drama to the music alone. (…) With numerous scenic details, the director sets interesting accents for interpretation, for example with sculpture-like figures that creep into the scene like Pallas Athena in the first part.”

Christoph Wurzel, Bachtrack, März 2017

“Tanja Ariane Baumgarten is a tormented Cassandre who does not belong anywhere – neither in the Art Deco salon of the Trojan elite reminiscent of the 1920s – nor in the antiquated outside world of the people, who are initially still happy about the Trojan horse. She looks directly at the audience at the beginning – projected onto an intermediate curtain – and also later, not hiding her inner self, but also knowing that all lamentation will be in vain. She is the pivot of the first part, and Tanja Ariane Baumgarten plays and sings with great intensity. (…) in the second part, director Eva Maria Höckmayr develops a greater emotional density – which stands in beautiful “contrast” to the music, which does not initially attest to the emotionality ostensibly and only slowly, but then clearly unfolds. Especially in the intimate moments of Didon and Enée’s togetherness, she demonstrates a well-managed direction of the characters. Didon, torn apart by love, is vocally (with a beautiful high note ) and dramatically authenticated at all times and very impressively portrayed by Claudia Mahnke.”

Ljerka Oreskovic Herrmann, Ioco, 13.3.2017

“Strong images and characters, strong choruses and a lushly cast opera and museum orchestra in dazzling form. Hector Berlioz’s ‘Trojans’ also fulfilled the XXL norm in Frankfurt in terms of playing time. Eva-Maria Höckmayr has staged the opera five-act based on parts of Virgil’s ‘Aeneid’ as a tragedy of two power women and, with a few exceptions, keeps the tension going for over five hours. (…) Plenty of personnel on stage, then – and the fact that only the US tenor Register is a guest singer speaks for the quality of the Frankfurt ensemble, which received much applause at the premiere.”

Klaus Ackermann, Offenbach Post, 21.2.17

“Eva-Maria Höckmayr and her set designer Jens Kilian move the antique drama based on Virgil’s “Aeneas” to the time of the opera’s creation and thus to the beginning colonial epoch. Brown, imperialistic columns resembling elongated cannons impressively depict the familial power centres of Troy and Carthage in both parts. Moreover, Höckmayr subjects her male hero Énée to a critical view through the two main female characters, quite in the composer’s spirit. From Berlioz’s point of view, too, Énée is responsible both for the fall of Troy, because he does not trust Cassandra’s warnings, and for the fall of Carthage and its queen Didon. A Trojan fighting machine, he prefers to listen to the instructions of the dead ghost Hector rather than his lover, and leaves Carthage to rebuild Troy in Italy. No wonder that Saskia Rettig puts him and his Trojan comrades-in-arms into immature boy scout costumes with short trousers and gives them martial conqueror boots. Höckmayr’s conceit of exposing the supposed hero Énée as a blunt fellow rapist at a costume party after he helps Didon subdue African troops-“it is the god Mars who unites us”-also fits the well-considered vision.”

Bettina Boyens, Musik Heute, 20.2.17

“The two exceptional singers already authenticate the directorial approach by their presence. (…) Strong images are created in the antique scenery with imitation wood by Jens Kilian. The omnipresent mass choruses are repeatedly arranged by the director into effective tableaux vivant and dramatically illuminated by Olaf Winter.”

Michael Demel, Der Opernfreund, Februar 2017

“This production at the Frankfurt Opera is the most successful throw; extremely clever, continuously exciting, wonderful to look at, and no number, no scene is arbitrary, even every ballet number is linked to the plot and the theme of the whole! Even the uncut version, which is played here,seems perfect. (…) Höckmayr obviously knows the myth and the Aeneid very well and reinstates little striking elements and characters in their right with Berlioz. We also see in the Trojan royal family, all in black, Helena, who has – nothing to say about all that is going on. Incidentally, the family is also present during Cassandre’s vision of doom, her aria at the beginning of Act 1, and fulfilling Apollo’s curse, does not believe the somewhat embarrassingly annoying relative’s prophecies. Andromaque’s melodrama also largely belongs to Cassandre, who thereby foresees Astyanax’s sad fate, but again to the family’s annoyance. (…) During the brief orchestral postlude after the energetically sung hash chorus of the Carthaginians against the Trojans, the stage turns once more to the banqueting hall, where, abandoned and forgotten by all, the dead Didon lies, with her back to the audience, anti-heroic and in this all the more shocking, powerful last image of an exemplary interpretation of the work that is anything but unambiguous.”

Samuel Zinsli,Operalounge, März 2017

“The director, Eva Maria Höckmayr, knew how to make ideal use of the large revolving stage with its many different levels of action. The character direction, especially of the mass scenes and the “appearance” of the oversized “Trojan Horse” were particularly impressive, and Jens Kilian, responsible for the stage design, deserves praise. (…) The chorus, extra chorus and children’s chorus of the house played a very special role in the success of the evening. Acting and above all in the vocal realization of the very demanding choral scenes: simply terrific!

A brilliant, extremely successful production.”

Godenrath, www.svensopernparadies.wordpress.com, 29.3.2017

LES TROYENS. Berlioz

MUSIKALISCHE LEITUNG John Nelson
BÜHNEJens Kilian
DRAMATURGIENorbert Abels
KOSTÜMSaskia Rettig
LICHTOlaf Winter
CHORTilman Michael
CHOREOGRAFIE/TANZMartin Dvorak
KOMPARSERIEBühne Frankfurt
MIT:Tanja Baumgartner
Claudia Mahnke
Bryan Register
Judita Nagyova
Martin Mitterrutzner
Gordon Bintner
Opernchor
Alfred Reiter
Michael Porter
Elizabeth Reiter
Barbara Zechmeister
Brandon Cedel
Thomas Faulkner
Daniel Miroslaw
Dietrich Volle
Alison King
Thesele Kemane
Martin Dvorak
Irene Bauer
Zusatzchor Frankfurt
Extrachor

,,Im Grunde unspektakulär und ohne Exaltation erzählt Regisseurin Eva-Maria Höckmayr in den ersten beiden Akten eine spannende, beklemmende Kriegsgeschichte, zentriert um die dominierende Kassandra-Figur von Tanja Ariane Baumgartner. (…) Packend auch der klug und vokal eindringlich nachgezeichnete Weg Didons (Claudia Mahnke) von der imperialen Grande Dame zur hochdramatisch alle Facetten von Leidenschaft, Wut, Trauer und Lähmung ausschöpfenden Verlassenen.“

Hans-Klaus Jungheinrich, Opernwelt April 2017

,,Tanja Ariane Baumgartner ist eine große Sängerdarstellerin und eine charismatisch leuchtende, volumenstarke Cassandre. Die glühende Wucht, die verzweifelte Zärtlichkeit, die sie in ihre Stimme legt, als es gilt, den Geliebten zu retten, führt schnurstracks zu einer der ersten Frankfurter Opernsternstunden des Abends, bei denen man das Atmen für kurze Zeit vergisst. Aber auch er, der tapfere Chorèbe (Gordon Bintner), glaubt ihr erst, als es zu spät ist.

Überhaupt: Die Frauen! Fast alle sind den Männern in dieser Produktion eine gute Klasse voraus. Das gilt, außer für die Baumgartner, vor allem für Claudia Mahnke, die als Dido im zweiten Teil („Die Trojaner in Karthago“) das Regiment führt: Sie macht, als eine Königin der Herzen, eine grandiose Entwicklung durch, die von kalter Staatsräson über die heiße Privataffäre bis zur Selbstauflösung führt. (…) Eva-Maria Höckmayr und ihr Ausstatter Jens Kilian entschieden sich mutig für handfeste Folklore. Schatten, Licht und Video setzen sie, mit Hilfe von Olaf Winter und Bert Zander, raffinierter ein.“

Eleonore Büning, FAZ, 21.2.2017

,,Regisseurin Eva-Maria Höckmayr hat gemäß dieser Deutung die nötigen Elemente akkurat aus Berlioz’ Libretto und Komposition herausgearbeitet. (…) Und obwohl also alles mit einer mentalen Verbeugung vor der Vorlage ausgeführt ist – perfektionistisch, klassisch, geordnet – täuscht an diesem Sonntagabend bei der Premiere der über vier Stunden langen Oper nichts darüber hinweg, was in ihrem Kern verhandelt wird. Sie zentriert sich, klassischer hätte Berlioz es nicht stricken können, um die tragische Liebesgeschichte, die sich zwischen dem etwas verwirrten Aeneas und der liebesdurstigen Dido entfaltet, und die unweigerlich in der Abreise des einen und im Selbstmord der anderen münden muss.“

Ekaterina Kel, Die deutsche Bühne, Februar 2017

,,Dabei bindet Nelson die vielen wilden Einzelheiten, die oft spektakulären Mini-Effekte in eine große Linie ein, breitet das Geschehen in einem mächtigen, sich nie aufstauenden Fluss aus. Diesen nimmt die Regisseurin Eva-Maria Höckmayr in ihrer Inszenierung auf und setzt immer wieder die Drehbühne ein, ohne dass es je aufdringlich wird. (…) Zentraler Ort ihrer Lesart ist eine Art Ball- oder Rittersaal, ein säulengesäumter Prunkraum – mit Edelholzwänden in Troja, mit luftigen, weißen Vorhängen in Karthago. Hier erkundet Höckmayr Stück und Figuren und versucht in erster Linie Berlioz‘ Musik und seine ungewöhnliche Tableau-Dramaturgie hör- und erfahrbar zu machen. (…) erfindet aber eine starke, symbolkräftige Bildwelt samt riesigem Pferd und vermittelt vor allem Berlioz‘ kruden Stückaufbau, etwa die Abhandlung des trojanischen Krieges in zwei Akten, als Freude über die Ankunft des Pferdes und als Moment der Niederlage in der schon lange tobenden Schlacht, beides fast ohne äußere Handlung. Auf der anderen Seite gelingen großartige Passagen, etwa der gesamte vierte Akt, in dem Höckmayr so behutsam wie dicht die Entwicklung von Dido und Énée von Verliebten zu Liebenden nachzeichnet. Hier bannt jede Einzelheit, wird man durch Merkurs, von Thomas Faulkner wunderbar elastisch geschmetterten „Italie!“-Rufe fast genauso aus dem Traum gerissen wie das Liebespaar. Höckmayr präsentiert das mythische Geschehen als eine als eine Art überzeitliche Parabel. Das Private kippt ständig ins Politische, der Krieg in die Familienaufstellung. Dazu bauen die wechselnden Schauplätze auf der Drehbühne, die Tänzer und Statisten immer wieder eine Parallelwelt auf, ein Gespinst von Göttern, Toten, Ängsten und Sehnsüchten.“

Andreas Falentin, Concerti, 20.2.2017

,,In den ersten eineinhalb Stunden geht es um das Große und Ganze des Dramas Krieg. Auf der Bühne, deren Tiefe einem selten so bewusst wird wie in diesen „Les Troyens“, kontrastieren der pompöse, geschlossene Innenraum des königlichen Palastes mit den weiten oder kleinen Plätzen des Volkes. Es scheint unendlich viele Orte zu geben, rasend schnell wechseln Schauplätze, überall Menschen, mal in Massen, dann vereinzelt oder in kleinen Gruppen. Das Schicksal, die Drehbühnen und vor allem die Musik schleudern die Zuschauer erbarmungslos in einen Rausch. Und überall ist sie: Cassandre, die die Zukunft kennt, Cassandre, der niemand zuhören will. Tanja Ariane Baumgartner dürfte mit der Rolle der Seherin die ihres Lebens gefunden haben. (…) „Les Troyens“ von Hector Berlioz fordern die Musiker und Zuschauer aufs Äußerste. Man kann angesichts des megalomanen Unterfangens verzweifeln und aufgeben oder sich mit Haut und Haaren hingeben und einen unvergesslichen Klang- und Bildrausch erleben, in dem man noch lange gefangen bleibt.“

Andrea Richter, Faust Kultur, Februar 2017

,,Die grandiose Tanja Ariane Baumgartner starrt als Kassandra mit weit aufgerissenen Augen in die düstere Zukunft. Mord und Totschlag werden, in Anlehnung an die antike Tragödie, dann aber nicht auf der Bühne gezeigt, sondern nur besungen. (…)Die wunderbaren Sängerdarsteller Claudia Mahnke und Bryan Register kämpfen sich als skrupulöse Karthagerkönigin Dido und windiger Trojanerheld Aeneas durch ein Wechselbad der Gefühle: Dem toten Ehemann gehorchen oder der Liebe nachgeben? (…)Ein schlüssiges Schlussbild in Eva Maria Höckmayrs insgesamt achtbarem Versuch, Berlioz Opern-Mammut ganz ohne plumpe Aktualisierungszitate zu zähmen.“

Ursula Böhmer, SWR 2 Journal am Mittag, 20.2.17

,,(…) die jüngste Inszenierung an der Oper Frankfurt beweist, dass sie trotz Ihrer Länge und ihrer zwei Geschichten das Publikum fesseln kann. Regisseurin Eva-Maria Höckmayr, deren Romeo und Julia auf dem Dorfe-Inszenierung an der Oper Frankfurt noch in guter Erinnerung ist, wurde für die anspruchsvolle Aufgabe einer Neuinszenierung von Les Troyens verpflichtet. Mit ruhiger Hand führt sie durch die ständig zwischen dramatischer Aktion, Berichten und lyrischer Meditation wechselnde Handlung, bringt dabei, unter Einsatz der großen Drehbühne, die großen Chormassen schnell und sinnvoll auf die Bühne. Und schafft dennoch kammermusikalische Intimität und Nähe.(…)“

Markus Gründig, Kulturfreak, Februar 2017

,,In dem ersten Teil der „,Trojaner“ hat die Regisseurin Kassandra in den Mittelpunkt gestellt. Auf dem Vorhang erscheint ihr ernstes Gesicht – alias Sängerin Tanja Ariane Baumgartner. Wie sie die Kassandra singt und spielt, ist eine Wucht. Fulminant ihre Stimme, von fein differenzierend bis verzweifelt rasend setzt sie sie ein, faszinierend ihr Spiel, ihre kleine Performance mit der Kriegsfigurine (Choreograf und Tänzer Martin Dvorák). Ihre schlanke, autoritär wirkende Figur überzeugt als Kassandra. (…) Eva-Maria Höckmayr – sie inszenierte in Frankfurt „A Village Romeo and Juliet“ – ist eine erfahrene, mehrfach ausgezeichnete Regisseurin. Sie verantwortet die Inszenierung dieser „Trojaner“. Sie beweist eine psychologisch einfühlsame Führung der Personen – vor allem von Kassandra, Dido und Aeneas. Geschickt bewegt sie den Chor. Einfallsreich, wie sie Geister- und Kriegsfigurinen Kassandra und Dido begleiten lässt.“

Renate Feyerbacher, Feuilleton Frankfurt, 23.2.2017

,,Eva-Maria Höckmayr (Regie) und John Nelson (musikalische Leitung, dazu ein ausgewiesener Berlioz Spezialist), gelingt mit dieser Produktion ein rundum üppiges, stellenweise grandioses Epos, mit starken musikalischen und schauspielerischen Szenen, das durchaus zeitenübergreifende Probleme wie Flucht, Emigration, Gewalt aufgreift, aber nicht in eine oberflächliche Aktualisierung eines Flüchtlingsdramas abgleitet. (…) Mit raschen Wandlungen der Szenen, einer sich ständig bewegenden Drehbühne, bizarren Kostümen, welt- und seelenöffnenden Videoeinblendungen und viel gekonnten Tanz- und Balletteinlagen wurden die vier Stunden zu einem kurzweiligen Seherlebnis. Hier reizte man das gesamte technische Know-how der Opernbühne in bester Manier aus. Eine Operninszenierung, die in dieser Hinsicht in die Zukunft weist.“

www.hboscaiolo.blogspot.de, Februar 17

,,Da ist eine kluge Inszenierung zu besichtigen, die die Klammer zwischen den beiden Teilen und damit die heute weitgehend übliche Entscheidung, das Ganze an einem Abend zu präsentieren, einsichtig macht. Ist diese Klammer in der Partitur mit den Motiven des trojanischen Marsches bereits angelegt, wird sie wie selten durch das Regiekonzept plausibel. Eva Maria Höckmayr, notabene wie 1983 eine Regisseurin, fokussiert das Geschehen auf den Typus der Frau, die sieht, erkennt, bewahren und lieben will. Einmal ist sie Seherin, zum anderen Lenkerin der Staatsgeschäfte. So unterscheiden sie sich eminent und verschmelzen doch psychologisch im finalen Scheitern. Zum Menschen hier wird alles Sein. (…) Von Anfang an entzieht sich Höckmayr der Anbiederung an aktuelle Zustände und Debatten durch die radikale Auflösung aller natürlichen Schauplätze.“

Ralf Siepmann, O-Ton, Februar 2017

,,Der erste Eindruck der Inszenierung von Eva-Maria Höckmayr an der Frankfurter Oper ist der einer monumentalen Projektion des von visionärer Sorge gezeichneten Gesichts der Kassandra auf einem Gazevorhang. Mit derlei Überblendungen arbeitet die Regisseurin über den ganzen Abend hinweg immer wieder, (…). Eine Bild um Bild klarsichtig durchgearbeitete, zutiefst eindrückliche Inszenierung.“

Allgemeine Zeitung Kassel, Stefan Michalzik, 22.2.2017

,,Den unausweichlichen Fall Trojas am Ende des zweiten Akts inszeniert Regisseurin Eva-Maria Höckmayr bemerkenswert distanziert, indem sie naheliegenden Bühnennaturalismus verweigert (etwa die kollektive Selbsttötung Cassandras gemeinsam mit den trojanischen Frauen, um den griechischen Erobereren nicht in die Hände zu fallen) und die Dramatik allein der Musik überlässt. (…) Mit zahlreichen szenischen Details setzt die Regisseurin interessante Akzente zur Deutung, etwa mit skulpturartigen Figuren, die sich wie Pallas Athene im ersten Teil in die Szene einschleichen.“ 

Christoph Wurzel, Bachtrack, März 2017

,,Tanja Ariane Baumgarten ist eine gepeinigte Cassandre, die nirgendwo dazugehört – weder in den an die 1920er Jahre erinnernden Art Déco-Salon der trojanischen Elite – noch in die antikisierende Außenwelt des Volkes, das sich über das trojanische Pferd zunächst noch freut. Sie schaut die Zuschauer zu Beginn – projiziert auf einen Zwischenvorhang – und auch später direkt an, ihr Inneres nicht verbergend, doch auch wissend, dass alle Wehklage umsonst sein wird. Sie ist der Dreh- und Angelpunkt des ersten Teils, und Tanja Ariane Baumgarten spielt und singt mit großer Intensität. (…) im zweiten Teil entwickelt die Regisseurin Eva Maria Höckmayr eine größere emotionale Dichte – was im schönen „Kontrast“ zur Musik steht, die die Emotionalität zunächst nicht vordergründig bescheinigt und erst langsam, dann aber deutlich entfaltet. Insbesondere in den intimen Momenten der Zweisamkeit von Didon und Enée beweist sie eine gut geführte Personenregie. Die von Liebe zerrissene Didon wird von Claudia Mahnke stimmlich (mit einer schönen Höhe ) und darstellerisch jederzeit beglaubigt und sehr beeindruckend dargestellt.“

Ljerka Oreskovic Herrmann, Ioco, 13.3.2017

,,Starke Bilder und Charaktere, starke Chöre und ein üppig besetztes Opern- und Museumsorchester in blendender Form. Hector Berlioz‘ ‚Trojaner‘ erfüllen in Frankfurt auch von der Spieldauer her die XXL-Norm. Eva-Maria Höckmayr hat den Opern-Fünfakter nach Teilen der „,Aeneis“ von Vergil als Tragödie zweier Powerfrauen inszeniert und hält die Spannung bis auf wenige Abstriche über fünf Stunden lang. (…) Viel Personal also auf der Bühne – und die Tatsache, dass lediglich der US-Tenor Register Gastsänger ist, spricht für die Qualität des Frankfurter Ensembles, das zur Premiere viel Beifall erhielt.“

Klaus Ackermann, Offenbach Post, 21.2.17

,,Eva-Maria Höckmayr und ihr Bühnenbildner Jens Kilian verlegen das Antikendrama nach Vergils „Aeneas“ in die Entstehungszeit der Oper und damit in die beginnende Kolonialepoche. Braune, imperialistische Säulen, die langgezogenen Kanonen gleichen, bebildern eindrucksvoll in beiden Teilen die familiären Machtzentren Trojas und Karthagos. Darüber hinaus unterzieht Höckmayr ihren männlichen Helden Énée einer kritischen Sicht durch die beiden weiblichen Hauptfiguren, durchaus im Sinne des Komponisten. Auch aus Berlioz´ Sicht ist Énée sowohl für den Untergang von Troja verantwortlich, weil er den Warnungen Kassandras nicht vertraut, als auch für den Untergang Karthagos und seiner Königin Didon. Als trojanische Kampfmaschine hört er lieber auf die Anweisungen des toten Geistes Hector als auf seine Geliebte und verlässt Karthago, um Troja in Italien neu zu errichten. Kein Wunder, dass Saskia Rettig ihn und seine trojanischen Mitstreiter in unreife Pfadfinderkostüme mit kurzen Hosen steckt und ihnen martialische Erobererstiefel verpasst. Auch der Einfall Höckmayrs, den angeblichen Helden Énée auf einem Kostümfest als stumpfen Mit-Vergewaltiger zu entlarven, nachdem er seiner Didon bei der Unterwerfung der afrikanischen Truppen geholfen hat – „es ist der Gott Mars, der uns vereint“-, passt in die gut überlegte Sicht.“

Bettina Boyens, Musik Heute, 20.2.17

,,So beglaubigen die beiden Ausnahmesängerinnen bereits durch ihre Präsenz den Regieansatz. (…) Dabei entstehen in den antikisierenden Kulissen mit Edelholzimitation von Jens Kilian durchaus starke Bilder. Die omnipräsenten Massenchöre werden von der Regisseurin immer wieder zu wirkungsvollen Tableaux vivantes arragiert und von Olaf Winter dramatisch ausleuchtet.“

Michael Demel, Der Opernfreund, Februar 2017

,,Diese Inszenierung an der Oper Frankfurt ist ein höchst gelungener Wurf, höchst klug, pausenlos spannend, wunderbar anzuschauen, und keine Nummer, keine Szene ist beliebig, selbst jede Ballettnummer mit der Handlung und der Thematik des Ganzen verknüpft, sodass einem die ungestrichene Fassung, die hier gespielt wird, als völlig und einzig richtig vorkommt. (…) Höckmayr kennt den Mythos und die Aeneis offensichtlich sehr genau und setzt bei Berlioz wenig markante Elemente und Personen wieder in ihr Recht ein. So sehen wir in der trojanischen Königsfamilie auch, ganz in Schwarz, Helena, die zu all dem Geschehen – nichts zu sagen hat. Die Familie ist übrigens auch während Cassandres Untergangsvision, ihrer Arie zu Beginn des 1. Aktes, anwesend, glaubt, Apollos Fluch erfüllend, der etwas peinlichen bis lästigen Verwandten ihre Prophezeihungen nicht. Auch Andromaques Melodram gehört weitgehend Cassandre, die dabei Astyanax‘ trauriges Schicksal vorhersieht, abermals zum Ärger der Familie. (…) Während des kurzen Orchesternachspiels nach dem energisch gesungenen Hasschor der Karthager gegen die Trojaner dreht sich die Bühne noch einmal zum Festsaal, wo von allen verlassen und vergessen die tote Didon liegt, mit dem Rücken zum Publikum, antiheroisch und darin umso erschütternder, mächtiges letztes Bild einer exemplarischen Interpretation des alles andere als eindeutigen Werks.“

Samuel Zinsli,Operalounge, März 2017

,,Die Regisseurin, Eva Maria Höckmayr verstand es, die große Drehbühne mit ihren vielen unterschiedlichen Handlungsebenen, ideal zu nutzen. Die Personenführung, insbesondere der Massenszenen und der „,Auftritt“ des übergroßen „,Trojanischen Pferdes“ gelangen besonders eindrucksvoll, wobei der für das Bühnenbild verantwortliche Jens Kilian lobend zu erwähnen ist. (…) Ganz besonderen Anteil am Gelingen des Abends hatten der Chor, Extrachor und Kinderchor des Hauses. Darstellerisch und vor allen Dingen in der stimmlichen Umsetzung der sehr anspruchsvollen Chorszenen: einfach grandios!

Eine fulminante, überaus gelungene Produktion.“

Godenrath, www.svensopernparadies.wordpress.com, 29.3.2017